Stars alignment without tracking

Hello folks!
I’m new to astrophotography witthout any proper setup and I’ve been trying some experiments lastly : shooting with a smartphone attached to a pair of 8x42 binoculars.
I’ve taken 600 pictures of 2s exposure with dark and offsets and now trying to stack them using Siril.
All the steps done manually untill the alignment are fine but when trying to do the alignment it does not work : SIRIL does not find the stars to align, almost all frames are rejected (ex on 50 frames, only 11 are taken).
Is there any way to do this alignment knowing that the object is moving through the field of view?
I was hoping that the 1 star alignment with “follow the star movement” will help me out but this does not work as well.
Any help would be appreciated :slight_smile:

Thanks!
Romain.

Hello Romain,

Several things you can try:

• 2-3 stars alignment. If your mount isn’t tracking, you will also get field rotation, and 1-star alignment can only detect shifts.
  • global registration. Select the reference frame as one towards the middle of your series. So that you maximise overlap between this frame and the frames at the start and at the end of the series. You said it would only include a limited number, have you checked that enough stars were detected? Have a look at this page: Siril - Image Analysis

Cécile

Hello Cécile and many thanks for your reply !
I’ve tried the different methods you recommended with only 4 frames.
The stars detection is good with about 70 to 90 detection and no rejected frames.
Though I end-up with duplicated stars in the stacked image as seen below.

alignment-stars

I’ve tried the 2-3 stars technique as well as the global with all the diffrent algorythms for the alignment.

Also, the 600 pictures are taken by batch of 50s then re-centered again so I don’t follow a regular rotation.

Any ideas?