Suddenly need to "mount & open" camera for download...

Hi!
Thank you for RPD & please excuse me if I am asking a stupid question!

I have been using RPD for several years with various Panasonic pocket zoom cameras & for a couple of years with my current Sony DSC-WX350.
To download photos, I have always set the camera to Replay, then connected the camera by USB cable to my Acer desktop PC.
This always resulted in automatic opening of PMHOME, then automatic opening of RPD, showing thumbnails of whatever photos were in the camera and allowing download.
That was the case up to last week, most recently with Ubuntu 21.04 & RPD 0.9.26 from Synaptic package manager.

A couple of days ago, I upgraded Ubuntu to 21.10.
In checking things generally, I was surprised to find that connecting the camera as usual, produced absolutely no action, not opening PMHOME nor RPD.

Synapt did not propose any more recent version of RPD, so I removed 0.9.26, then downloaded 0.9.28 from your site & installed it with your installer.
RPD opens OK manually from the icon on the panel.
But there is still no reaction at all on connecting the camera, either with RPD closed or open.

In Settings > Removable Media > Photos, the requested action is RPD.

I noticed in File Manager, that “PMHOME” & “2.0 GB Volume” appear & seem to be mounted as soon as I connect the camera.
If I click on the 2.0 GB Volume, it opens in FM, with a notice saying “Contains digital photos” and a large button to open RPD.
If I click on that button, then RPD opens, with thumbnails, and I can download as usual.

So, to resume - before I can download, I need to:

• Connect the camera by USB:
  • Open File Manager
  • Click on 2.0 GB Volume
  • Click on the Rapid Photo Downloader button

Is this what is supposed to happen?
What can I do to get back to automatic opening of RPD?

Thanks!

What is PMHOME? Does it run in Linux?

Are you running Ubuntu with Gnome, or something else?

Hi & thanks for your concern.