Super beginner question(s) about white balance

I’m an all-around beginner to photography and to image processing. Last night I was shooting raw+jpeg indoors and I had white balance set to tungsten. Based on the camera’s user manual I was expecting the WB to apply only to the JPEG, however when I look at the EXIF on the raw image I see that the white balance is tungsten. The camera is an Olympus OM DE M10 mkii. A few questions…

1. Do cameras typically apply the WB setting to a raw image?

2. Assuming in my case that the answer to #1 is Yes, can the unbalanced image be recovered in a raw file editor?

3. Could this be an error in the way the EXIF data is written by the camera?

The white balance isn’t APPLIED to the RAW - the setting is RECORDED in the RAW for your information.

1 Like

The raw software may apply your in camera white balance as a default but you are able to can change the settings.

1 Like

Thanks, I’ll pay a little more attention to what’s going on when I open the raw file. Using raw therapee fwiw.

As others have said - what has happened is that the camera has recorded what white balance you set when the image was captured. When you open the image in a viewer or raw processor, it will usually apply that white balance for you when viewing it.

It’s only applying the information it had by default. You are quite free to change it to any WB setting you’d like after the fact (in the raw file).

1 Like

You can also cha he the WB of a jpg, but all edits to a jpg are destructive, while edits to raw files are not.

Maybe I had an answer once but I forgot what it was. I am wondering if WB would affect the metering of the camera or something else. It might depend on the maker or model. If so, then the WB setting would matter tangentially.