Switching Camera Pains, any advise?

Dear community, I recently upgraded from a Nikon D7000 + 35mm f1.8 + 55-300mm f4.5 to a much more expensive Canon EOS R + RF 28-70 L2 lens set up. I mainly shoot fashion and portrait photography, I’m a beginner/intermediate amateur.

The main reason I switched was because I wanted to go mirrorless (avoid chimping) and get better autofocus. The new set up delivered on this, but I find that the photos I am taking are not as good as my old prime lenses and “cheap” telephoto. The auto ISO seems to overshoot on the Canon (I ruined a big part of a photo session because of this due to overexposure), the bokeh I feel is not as intense (I am surprised given that people describe that lens as a prime lens quality zoom lens), the camera and lens are so much heavier too, which I think limits my stamina/concentration.

My question is, should I just keep going at it with the new set up or reconsider going back to the old one? As they say, these days there are no bad cameras and this lens in particular should be a Rolls-Royce (maybe I just don’t know how to get the best out of it). But I wonder if I made an expensive mistake by switching. I feel a bit discouraged and like I am letting my models down sometimes! Any advise would be appreciated :slight_smile:

If you don’t like the bokeh, there are good primes for every system. Bokeh is very subjective, some like it smooth, some swirly, some like onion rings… There’s no definite “right” answer, but each lens can only pick one of those options. I’m sure Canon builds one you’d like.

As for your EOS R, I can’t comment. Never had one, nor felt the need for such a system. But if you were happy with the bokeh on your APS-C 35 f/1.8, perhaps you don’t need the even wider apertures afforded by a full frame camera.

1 Like