System color profile leading to different RGB values?

I wanted to learn the channel mixer module in darktable with the help of a simple test picture with a black background and the different main color spots. Therefore I created such a picture in gimp.

Black background RGB 0 0 0, then red 255 0 0, green 0 255 0, blue 0 0 255 and some mixed colors.

As it turned out, in darktable analyzing the picture I did not get a black as expected.

Black turned out to be 13 14 14 and all the other colors had different too.

Long story short: I found out that this feature? is connected to my system color profile. When I switch to one of the other display profiles the RGB values are as expected.

It was just recently that I set up a color profile on my computer, i.e. I have little experience with it.

I presume that my color profile is somehow corrupt. Am I right? Does anyone have any idea how I can fix this? (I’m running Manjaro 18.1.5 with XFCE)

1 Like

Something wrong with your colour management?

Yes, I think you are right.
It seems to me that color management in linux is a really tricky issue.
Colord and xiccd daemons are running and the color profile is set.
darktable-cmstest states that there are different profiles used. But the profiles used are the same…

Might that error lead to such an effect? Any idea of how I can fix it?

I run i3 with xiccd as a user process and colord as a system service and my darktable-cmstest is OK.

Can you share that test image? Perhaps it’s an issue with Darktable or XFCE colour management? One of the reasons I changed to Cinnamon DE from XFCE is that cinnamon handles colour management very easily.

Of course can you have the test image. Thanks for the tip, next week I get a new computer, maybe I give cinnamon a try…

RGB_Test_Channel_Mixer.tif (8.0 MB)

I downloaded your tif, beautiful… :smiley: