Teaching and some special features: Darktable and / or Gimp or Photoshop and Co?

Hi,

my name is Andreas and I am quite new to darktable. I observed darktable since a while but sticked to rawtherapee in rare cases where I needed to read raws and did everything else by gimp. Usually I did use jpgs out of the camera. So far I never had ambitions to get to a bigger public or to use any of my pictures for prints, so that best technical quality was no issue.

I have however now the chance to take over a photography lecture for students of “Packaging Design” starting in winter 25/26 and I like to accept this challenge.

In this context I struggle now which tools to teach. Most of my students never will earn money by photography, so this speaks for free tools. Also a point is that the algorithms are open and it is not just magic for those who want to understand, so why I’d prefer to use free software, even if there are education programs and offers of Photoshop & Co. With darktable I like the more modern approach of working non destructive.

Unfortunately Gimp and Darktable are quite different in usage. So my feeling is it may make sense to focus on one of them, either Gimp or Darktable.

I also like to teach “graphical fotography” like:

(which is an overlay of the same picture, one slightly moved and subtracted, totally b/w)

or

the same as negativ of the first; in analog times the slightly shifted overlay of a positiv and negativ and then directly on paper.

or

Here not shifted but blurred and overlay again. In similar technique those “Neon arts” of the 80ies can be done step by step without having a super smart effect filter (by adding this now with a certain color on top of the original picture).

Or here two pictures in one:

So my question is what you would recommend for this kind of stuff: Sticking with Gimp, or waiting that there e.g. comes a filter which allows to overlay a non editable pixel pipe?