The morning after the rain

This is my first try at editing the DNGs out of my S20FE phone. I usually shot JPG-only with it, but this time I thought I could get something much better than the Samsung edit by merging multiple exposures by hand (and then I forgot to take the single JPG image to compare :man_facepalming:).

It’s de result of 4 DNGs combined automatically with HDRMerge, and then developed with darktable. I’d like to hear your opinions specially on:

• composition/crop
  • (non-)HDR look and how believable is the tone distribution (in real life there were some 4EV between the house wall and bright area in the clouds)
  • color cast of the foreground (I wanted to avoid a gray/blue look, and went for a more wet/yellow feeling there)

And anything else you want to comment, of course…

1 Like

If you wanted the not HDR look, I think you’ve achieved that. Some of the clouds closest to the foreground are tending towards, but aren’t there yet, in terms of HDR.

I like this, its a very warm, aged print/retro film sort of look to it.

I like the feeling of stillness in the foreground, contrasted with storm clouds in the mid ground and light on the horizon.

The window to the far right of the frame feels slightly too close to the edge. I am guilty of this often too. It might have been interesting to line the phone pole up with the middle of the tree, so you’d need to rotate around your scene counter clockwise a little bit.

Is the phone poll completely vertical? It feels just slightly off to me.

1 Like

Yes, I was trying to get some of those dramatic clouds people associate with the HDR look, but without looking so unreal. ‘Close-to but not HDR-looking’ is perfect for me :slight_smile: