The waiting (please critique)

A shot from this summer, taken while waiting for my plane at the Charles de Gaulle airport near Paris.

The perspective correction probably still needs some improvement (I’m still learning how to use Darktable’s keystone tool)… apart from that, I’ve tried to balance the volumes in the best possible way with a 3:4 crop.
What do you think? Any thoughts/suggestions about the composition and/or the B&W conversion?

3 Likes

I like the conversion. The tones are very pleasant.

The composition needs to be toward the left a bit. There’s something intruding on the right hand window second from the top (an airplane wing?), and the shadows on the floor are forming a line leading my eye straight out of the frame.

Another option could be to crop just a tad off the right to remove that fleck, and crop off the bottom until just above the 3rd horizontal shadow from the bottom (counting the one that’s currently on the bottom as the first).

Unfortunately, that loses you the 4:3 aspect ratio, but oh well.

I like it. Especially the BW conversion.
Just to be picky, I would have used the window bars as a rule of third guide, with the man as a breaking element (is this correct? My english is a little rusty, sometimes)

@CarVac @Dario_M
Thanks for the comments! Later today I will try few different cropping options, to see if I can come up with something better. I definitely wanted to use the human figure as the breaking element of the geometrical composition…

My eye is drawn to where all the bars intersect which makes my eye dart around the image with no real focus. I played around with cropping and came up with this.

So I took Iain suggestion, reduced the amount of sky on top, and brought the horizon approximately in the middle of the frame:

Try to use the vertical bars to frame him

Here we go, with a sort-of vertical rule of thirds:

1 Like

Again, this time with a 2:3 aspect ratio

1 Like