Translating RGB Tone Curves from LightRoom into RawTherapee

Hey! I am fairly new to RawTherapee, but I find it a very good software. Currently, I’m trying to build a program that converts XMP (LightRoom presets) into RawTherapee Processing files (PP3). So far, my main problem is to correctly translate color adjustments from LightRoom (LR) into RawTherapee (RT). Specially the adjustments made in LR at the RGB Tone Curves.

Screenshot 2024-03-25 095758

These RGB tone curves exist in RT (I did not find them in the Colors section)? If not, is there a way I can get a similar result with the tools available in RT? Or, what is the best way to get the same result in RT?

1 Like

One thing you might run into is that if you are able to come up with a direct translation LR might use a different pipeline than RT. I don’t know but if so the same settings might then not translate as you expect…

1 Like

Yeah, I can understand this. That is why I also added the “what is the best way to get the same result in RT?” to the general question.

1 Like

You could try taking the base png from RT that can be used for LUT generation and then use it in LR and apply the preset and then save it out and use LUTs as a way to transfer your presets…

It might be simpler to get a faithful conversion???

I don’t know the lightroom stuff, but there is RGB Curves in Color.

grafik

1 Like

Ohhh! Looks like these RGB Curves are exactly the same from LR! Thank you!!! That is exactly what I was looking for!

1 Like

If the pipeline makes this less than easy I think the LUT route via a png would be easy and faithful to the preset…

1 Like

Yeah! It looks like a good idea. But I think the main problem/downside of this route, is that, in order to generate a LUT that represents the LightRoom output, you need to have access to LightRoom in the first place, to generate the PNG/JPG output, and them, generate a LUT file from that.

No need to have the “LT access” would be the best scenario in my mind.