trying to have vkdt running in Linux Mint 21.1

I am a bit fed up of Microsoft and it changes in windows interface and forcing you to accept all the “innovations”.

So I am trying to keep my main system using Linux Mint 21.1 for my personal use (I have been using linux for some tasks for many years, but mainly web servers and the like).

Great opportunity to try vkdt in my Linux Mint 21.1 machine, as I could not get it working in windows.

My GPU is a nvidia GeForce GTX 1050 TI.

I have installed nvidia propietary drivers (525.85.05) and vulkan-tools.
vulkaninfo identifies the GPU correctly.

I have downloaded the vkdt .deb for ubuntu and tried to install it using dpkg.

But during install there are error with missing libs:

dpkg: problemas de dependencias impiden la configuración de vkdt:
 vkdt depende de libjpeg62-turbo (>= 1.3.1); sin embargo:
  El paquete `libjpeg62-turbo' no está instalado.

dpkg: error al procesar el paquete vkdt (--install):
 problemas de dependencias - se deja sin configurar
Se encontraron errores al procesar:
 vkdt

I have tried to install the libraries, but it seems there is no libjpeg62-turbo packages…
I don have installed a libjpeg-turbo8 in my system, though.
How may I get vkdt installed in my system?

TIA

Hi there,
I am also using linux mint 21.1 and did not compile vkdt but used the .deb file from:
https://software.opensuse.org/download.html?project=graphics%3Adarktable%3Amaster&package=vkdt

• click on the ubuntu logo and choose the link “direct binary packages”
  • then choose “xUbuntu 22.04” because linux mint 21.1 uses 22.04 as a base.
  • then double click the downloaded .deb file and install vkdt like any other .deb package

hope this helps you …

it is more useful if you add the repository instead of downloading the package. that will allow you to update vkdt easily when ever @hanatos pushes a change. github and OBS are integrated to rebuild the packages automatically.

1 Like

Yes, that’s the best option.
:wink: