Unusual "block patterns" after applying Style

Hi,

I’ve been using darktable for a while but I am no expert.
I use a Fuji X-T30 and find that my raw images look very dark after import.
After looking around, I found that some 3D LUTs (see an attached example) and started using them together with a bunch of other adjustments to make the raw image look a little better.

I am now finding that the application of these LUTs causes a weird block pattern after I apply them. It is not consistent and sometimes disappears after zooming in / out. Changing the interpolation method did not help.
See an example in the attached images.

Any ideas?

Ori

darktable_Ar6CEk4lZz
darktable_34sdb5YtTc

Hi @Ori and welcome!

When “developing” RAWs from a Fuji,
set EV = +1.2 in exposure.

For additional info, read Aurélien Pierre’s posts on this subject
here in this forum.

Have fun!
Claes in Lund, Sweden

Depending on the dynamic range setting :wink:
Roughly +1 EV for DR 200%, +2 EV for 400%. But! Highlights might be blown then.
The auto-matched tone curve without any exposure correction will give you a hint on what the camera “wanted” to do.

BTW the pattern is very unusual, maybe you want to put an affected RAF into the PlayRaw section?

The Hald CLUT (aka 3D LUT) is 1728*1728 pixels, so a cube 144 on each side. That isn’t a problem, if the software interpolates. But many input colours to the LUT will have the same output colours. This is because the LUT has 2985984 entries but only 1385985 unique values. On average, a bit more than 2 inputs will have the same output.

This may contribute to the blockiness. It certainly suggests something is wrong with the LUT.

Do you have openCL enabled? if so, try turning it off and see if it helps, I remember having a similar issue when I started using dt and haven’t configured my openCL correctly.

I have the same LUT package and there’s nothing wrong when I tried using it.

1 Like

Moinchen, @Sunhillow