V 4.0 - What modules are active by default for RAW files

I’m new to darktable and am trying to use it in a consistent way. When I open a RAW file, I want to see what the camera provides, but there are some modules that are switched on that adjust the image before I do anything. (Note: I am the ‘scene-referred workflow’, set in the Modules panel in ‘darkroom’ mode).

For example, filmic is on by default. I don’t want this to happen. I switched it and others off. It looks like there are 4 modules that must be on at a minimum (output color profile, input color profile, demosaic, raw black/white point). These cannot be deactivated or switched off. Also, white balance must be on for the image to look ‘as-shot’. I want this to be the default condition when opening a new image.

But, when I open another image, modules like filmic, sharpen and highlight reconstruction are switched on, so some corrections are automatically applied. I want to avoid this.

I tried creating a custom module layout, but there is no way to change the on/off status of the modules. I understand that modules like filmic are inherent in the ‘scene-referred workflow’, but do they have to be on by default?

I guess you know this but the camera doesn’t provide a viewable image (well, it does embed a JPEG image in the RAW but the RAW itself is not viewable). The RAW file needs some minimal processing and darktable must make some decisions to do this (though for some of them it will try to use data included in the RAW).

This is controlled in preferences > processing > auto-apply pixel workflow defaults. Set it to “none” and filmic (and exposure) won’t be auto-applied.

Similarly, disable preferences > processing > auto-apply sharpen to turn this off (this will be disabled by default in future versions of darktable).