VUW - a photo essay

Amidst the travel restrictions during the first two years of the declared Covid-19 pandemic, a short window opened in June 2021, during which I had a brief visit to New Zealand. Until now, I have not processed many of the captures from that time. On 16 June 2021 I visited my alma mater, where I completed my BSc in Computer Science from 1988-1991. At the time it was called simply “Victoria University of Wellington” and was widely known by the initialism: “VUW.” https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Victoria_University_of_Wellington I believe @damonlynch is also an alumnus.

Nostalgia got me rather powerfully: seeing the traditional Hunter building (boarded up amidst a restoration controversy in my time); the Kirk 301 lecture theatre (I had many classes there - although it had blackboards in my time); the quadrangle between Easterfield (Chemistry) and Rankine Brown (Library) now covered and called “The Hub” - but with an architecturally pleasing retractable glass wall:

There was also some whimsy: another photographer, and the quaint chaplaincy weatherboard house - I was an aged-care chaplain at the time, and it felt like an expression of my chaplaincy vocation: “quaint.”

Having now created my picture-book of memory, it occurred to me to share it here also, for those who may be interested.

9 Likes

Its so great that you got a chance to go back…

1 Like

I also have a BSc in Computer Science from VUW, but from 1991-1994 in my case. These days most if not all of the faculty have either retired or teach elsewhere, or in the case of the department chair John Hine, died. I don’t think we ever met you Martin, which wouldn’t surprise me, because (1) the department rarely if ever put on social events (that I can recall), and (2) I was working off campus to support myself financially.