What is the maximum image size (and file sizes) supported by DarkTable?

Hello,

I’m a beginner with DarkTable and I’m looking for information about the maximum image size (in pixels) that it can handle, as well as the maximum file sizes (per file type) it can handle.

In case other users have spotted this information, from a credible source, I’d be grateful if you provided me with the relevant links.

I’m currently having issues (crashes) when attempting to process a large HDR panoramic photo (94912 x 28845 pixels, i.e nearly 3 gigapixels) from an EXR file (5 GB) that I can open successfully using GIMP, so I need to better understand whether there’s an implied limit by DarkTable or it’s bug that I should report.

Many thanks.

How much RAM do you have in the machine?

The machine has 32GB RAM, which I am aware may not be sufficient for images of this size (in DarkTable’s way of representing pixel information internally), but the software should still not crash, i.e. in case it needs more memory than the system can allocate, should pop up a meaningful error message.

Prior to upgrading my PC with additional RAM, I need to know whether DarkTable supports such large images, otherwise it would be a waste of money.

I’ve never heard of an image size restriction, but more restrictions by your hardware, RAM and CPU bottleneck

2 Likes

If you define “crash” as the application closing unexpectedly then I think you’ll find this is a function of the OS, rather than the application.

When an application allocates memory, modern OSes will return success even if the amount requested exceeds the amount available. When the application attempts to use this memory (that the OS said was available) the OS flags an exception and closes the program (or some other background process, if available).

Simply put, the application can’t know to pop up a meaningful error message when it attempts to allocate RAM because the OS lies to it.