What is your L*AB adjustments workflow/philosophy in RT?

I have been aware of the CIELAB color space (color model?–these terms seem to be thrown around imprecisely) for years, but never bothered to learn much about it as a LR user. However, I just watched Andy Astbury’s video on L*AB and am now convinced that this adjustments panel is well worth the effort to learn in RT.

For me personally, I think this is one good consequence of my ditching LR and PS (I detest the “software as a service” model)–specifically that I am progressing beyond my somewhat lazy, ingrained habits in raw development. (I am a scientist and cannot devote full-time effort to my photography hobby).

However, transitioning from RGB color space–and the easy habits of tweaking vibrance, exposure, white balance, and clarity in LR–to the curves and equalizer-based adjustments in the LAB panel has been challenging. Some effort, experience, and tweaking will undoubtedly be necessary to master the various adjustments (LH, CH, CC, etc.). Nevertheless, I am getting some decent results on many photos. However, there are a few instances/photos in which I simply cannot duplicate some of the results I liked from LR. (and this involves more than just hue, contrast, but also sharpening… a topic for another thread)

My questions are:

How many of you use LAB and how do you combine it with other adjustments?

Where do the LAB adjustments fit into your workflow?

If you use the L-channel curve to adjust tone and contrast, do you then avoid using any of the exposure sliders, and curves elsewhere–i.e., under the Exposure tab?

If you adjust hue and saturation–SORRY chrominance! :smiley: – in LAB, do you then avoid doing it elsewhere?

How do LAB adjustments interact with, say, the White Balance tab? Isn’t tweaking with Temperature and Tint sliders in the White Balance panel doing the same thing (but less precisely) than adjusting A and B channel curves in the LAB panel?