When photography permit is required for amateurs in public places?

Yesterday when I was shooting dogs in Halloween costumes in the City Center plaza with my Nikon Z6 a security guy walked over and said “such cameras require a photography permit”. I complied and put my camera away but keep wondering if he was right. The plaza is a public place, I’m an amateur and not a commercial photographer. I searched on Internet for related policies, they all talk about commercial photography. Is a real camera and not a phone equal to commercial usage? What should I do next time?

1 Like

given that those policies largely depend on which jurisdiction you are under. it would be very helpful if you give at least some idea where you are :slight_smile:

San Ramon, CA

And if it helps - I did not use any tripods, special lights, flashes, etc.

Here in the UK, many places that are “open to the public” are not actually owned by the public. (For example: shopping malls, shops, churches, parks, public footpaths.) The owners can set rules prohibiting various activities. Such rules may be displayed somewhere. They may have a rule banning all photography, or require a permit, but turn a blind eye when the camera is a phone etc.

3 Likes

Check beforehand. If this is a public place and a public event, then I’d suspect that you don’t need a permit. It’d be weird in California.

I found their policies - permit is required for commercial photography only.

https://citycenterbishopranch.com/code-of-conduct/

Yet I was told by the security guy that “such cameras require permit”. What is the right way to handle situations like this one?

Probably queue the webpage that states the policy on your phone and be ready to show it.

1 Like

I’m guessing the security guard’s criterion was ‘iPhone = amateur; camera = professional’. Having a ‘real’ camera of any kind makes you look like a professional these days!

3 Likes

‘iPhone = amateur; camera = professional’.