Which is the working Color Space in darktable?

I am new to darktable (windows version).
I am impressed by this software, it has concepts and modules I have not seen in any other, and a great degree of control without being too techy (like dcraw that is oriented to programmers) an more photograph oriented, but letting you a lot of control.

One of the things that attracted me was using a 32 bit floating point workflow in CIE LAB.
It seemed a good idea to have results that mimic the human vision.

But then I have read Pierres’s article about darktable 3.0 migrating to a linear RGB workflow.

I understand the problem. It is clear that a linear workspace is needed for many transformations.

But which is the space used now?

It mentions CIE xyY, but it is not clear whether darktable processes images in CIE xyY or CIE RGB or other working space.

May you select the processing space? Where?

CIE xyY sounds as the logical substitute to CIE LAB, as it is linear and close to human vision, may be CIE RGB for technical processing reasons.

But you can find no mentions to that workspaces in darktable, when you select profiles…

Hi @ariznaf! Welcome to the Forum!

Working profile:

Output profile:

Profile2

1 Like

This depends on the modules that are used. Some modules work internally in the linear color space, others in the LAB color space. Some modules offer a choice of color space.

@anon41087856 has mentioned in the article which modules work in the linear color space and which in the LAB. He recommends to use the modules that work in the linear color space as far as possible and - if necessary - to use the modules that work in the perceptual color space at the end of the processing.

1 Like

Thank you, Boris.

Ah, OK, I have guessed that input profile might be the solution.

But @anon41087856 talks there about linear spaces that are more close to humanvision (and XYZ space) like CIE xyY and CIE RGB.

And there is none of this space.