Which style applied to a photo & style update processing

I’m quite new to Darktable. I created a custom style in Darktable, which I use as a base for my photos. However, after applying the style, it seems that this set of changes is just added to the history as if they were made manually to this particular photo (no indication that this was part of a style).

• Is there a way to still see afterward which style has been applied to a photo?
  • As I learn more about Darktable, I might have future ideas to further improve my base style. If later on, I would like to make small changes to a style that I already applied to a few photos, is there a way to easily reprocess all photos that in their history stack have previously used the (now) updated style?

Thanks a lot!

Hi Bart, welcome to pixls.

In the styles module there is a pull down option that lets you determine what is done when you apply a style: overwrite or append. The first will remove all that is there and replace it with what is in the style that is applied and the latter will add to what is already there.

No, not out-of-the-box (that I know of).

You can (re)name modules instances, though. So you could name one instance, or all of them, with the name of your style before creating that style.

Maybe, it depends.

You can always re-apply a style, but that will overwrite what has been done already. Not a problem if all that you have done previously is just apply a style. This will be a problem if you did other edits to those files after applying the style (be it adding another module/instance or tweak the instances applied by the style), those will be erased.

1 Like

Thanks a lot, the suggestion to rename module instances is very interesting!