Why does stacking increase brightness

I am fairly new to astro imaging, but I enjoy this immensely. I hope you don’t mind this newbie question, but why does stacking in Siril increase brightness? I though, stacking would just reduce the signal to noise ratio.

As you can see in the attached image, the more I have to stack for a given region, the brighter the picture becomes. This results in highly visible edges when the source frames are not perfectly aligned.

Why is this the case with stacking? It not only improves signal to noise, but also brightness?

Your visualization sliders are not in min and max values. Put the high slider to the max.

Thanks for the quick reply, but I don’t quite understand? Min/Max is selected? The difference in brightness is present in the picture after the stack, it is not an effect of the auto-stretch. Please see same effect in e.g. logarithmic. It is also present in linear mode.

My source images are quite identical. Same night, same camera, same settings. I only did not perfectly align the camera again after changing the battery.

I speak about the sliders under the preview, not the min/max button.

Ah, but that doesn’t change anything, either…

OK because now you are in log mode.
Stacking is just mean operation. It does not change brightness.

And on the edges you can have artifacts due to the number of images used to normalize.

Still present, also in linear mode…

Sorry, but maybe my understanding of stacking is wrong…

But I thought, for each pixel x, you do:
x = 1/N*(sum of all x_n from the stack),
where N is the number of pictures you have that contains pixel x

To me, it looks like the 1/N is missing? The more I stack of a pixel, the brighter it gets?!

In the edges this is a known situation: Handling out-of-frame values in mean stacking (#647) · Issues · FA / Siril · GitLab

You need to crop.