Why does the image look like that, with so many black squares?

Hello, I have just joined the forum.
I am a game developer and, for a game I am making, I created an image. I converted the word file to jpg, scaled the image to 320 x 244 pixels and converted it to gif. That image in the game has many black squares.
I would like to know why they come out and how I can remove them.
Thank you in advance.

This is the image that you see out of the game.
Acknowledgements

This is the image that you see in the game.
bor.pak - 0000

Ciao Stefano, and welcome!

More information needed.
Operating system?
What ā€œwordā€ program did you use?
How did you convert the word file to jpg? In what program?
How did you scale the image? In what program?
How did you convert it to a gif? In what program?

Have fun!
Claes in Lund, Sweden

That GIF file contains two identical images, which seems a bit strange.

I canā€™t see anything in either image that would cause black pixels. The minimum value in the green channel is 174 out of 255.

I suspect a bug, or something weird, in your game program. For example, perhaps it can only display a small number of colours or limited palette at any one time.

The black pixels seem to always correspond to pixels that are color (0,174,78) in the GIF. And as a coincidence, (0,174,78) is the first color in the color map, which is often the one used to mark the ā€œtransparentā€ color.

So perhaps you need to make sure that there is a transparent color (even in unused).

The mysteries to me:

• Why two identical frames in the GIF
  • Why is the green background not uniform?
  • Why is you GIF 320x244px and the PNG 320x240px?
2 Likes

Iā€™ll add another comment.

JPG is usually lossy, which means that pixel colours will change, especially where there are sudden changes in colour. For the best quality result, with a constant green background, donā€™t go via JPG compression.