Why does turning off the white balance module give a green image?

In both RT and DT.

I’m struggling to understand why this happens.

Take a look at the corresponding Rawpedia documentation.

Basically what you are doing when turning off the White Balance tool is giving the same weight to each of the photosites of the sensor, and in a Bayer type sensor there are twice as much green photosites than either red or blue photosites. Hence the green tint.

4 Likes

It’s not a matter of quantity, as demosaicing means that every pixel gets full color. It’s a matter of sensitivity.

Green photosites are roughly twice as sensitive as blue or red, which I suspect is done so that metering can be consistent across a range of white balances. If you don’t apply white balance, then, you get an extremely green image.

2 Likes

I agree. I’m far from an expert, but my understanding is that sensors have different sensitivities to different wavelengths, so the green sites gather more light than red ones, which gather more light than blue. I’ll be happy to be corrected by someone more knowledgeable if I’m wrong :slight_smile:

Oh, stirs memories of a rather spirited discussion on this topic here about a year or so ago, with folks now-departed from the forum…

I’ve been investigating spectral sensitivity to the end of producing better camera profiles, and I think it’s really this: The photosites unadorned with Bayer, IR, or other filters are equally “sensitive”, I think. But they all have a “sweet spot” in the visible spectrum, and that is in the 500-600nm range, whereas the visible spectrum goes roughly from 380nm to 740nm. The dominant spectral color in the 500-600nm range is “green”. The Bayer red, green, and blue filters are essentially bandpass, so they “tailor” the wavelengths presented at each site.

But the essential reason, I think, is that, in terms of spectral wavelength, the best sensitivity of the sensor sits in the place we’d call “green”…

1 Like