Why I use Linux. Arch, btw.

I have been using Linux as my OS of choice since early 2019. In this video I talk about why I use Arch Linux, btw, as my daily driver operating system.

This is quite a nerdy video, much moreso than my others and has very (very) little to do with photography. You have been warned.

12 Likes

Iā€™ll look forward to sitting down with this one later - I like hearing why people use what they use!

1 Like

Very nice, Radu. You are an effective Linux-evangelist!

2 Likes

Fedora user here, but with great interest in Arch. Maybe in a near future :blush::+1:

1 Like

Hah! Is there anywhere that this is a paid job? I feel like I would enjoy doing it.

1 Like

Yes, and hereā€™s the Guy who created the evangelist industry:

1 Like

I read his book on Apple (ā€œThe McIntosh wayā€, IIRC) a long time ago. Didnā€™t find it particularly good (ā€œApple: good, everything else: badā€).

The problem with these evangelists is that they essentially preach to the choir, and since their income depends on how much the choir loves them they canā€™t be too controversialā€¦

4 Likes

Got to meet him at a couple of choir rehearsals (SacraBlue).

Nice video. Interesting to follow. You almost convinced me. Been a Debian user since Woody though :grinning:

3 Likes

Thatā€™s what I recall of my impression of him from decades ago, just in general. I didnā€™t have the stomach to read his book. Too many Apple fanboys in those days seemed to worship at the altar of Steve Jobs. Kind of like those at the altar of Bill Gates and othersā€¦

2 Likes

Make sure you leave offering of toe jam at the alter of stallman

Iā€™ve run into a few RMS folks, but nothing GNU ā€¦

2 Likes

For Unix folks there has never been anything GNU under the Sun.

1 Like