Why sharpness ?

This is where I tell the story of my life, so don’t expect information.

I have been working on deblurring algorithms for 4 years now. I tried deconvolution, the blind and the non blind kind, unsharp masking with fancy guided filters, and before that the usual high-pass (actually an unsharp mask with gaussian blur) then wavelets contrast boosting. The latest has been a diffusing process and you will get that in darktable as the diffuse and sharpen module.

And yet, over the years I have gradually stopped using sharpening methods.

Why ?

I have imprinted in my brain the classical digital look. It was all the rage in the late 2000’s and some people have not evolved from it : saturation + 100%, contrast + 200%, sharpness + 500%. That makes for the caricature of an image, not for an image. All you see in there are the effects, they hide the content and the intent. That’s bad. It’s like a young musician than tries to play loud and fast to show off, and only produces noise in place of music. No content, no intent, only effects.

Perhaps, having 12/10 on each eye makes sharpness not that appealing to me, it’s just business as usual. Or perhaps it is that, having discovered analog film and its subtle softness, I find it more expressive because it’s less realistic. Less surgical. Or even that, with a 4 K screen, I have practically disabled any sub-pixel anti-aliasing in the first place, so that display doesn’t lie to me anymore.

Cartier-Bresson himself said “sharpness is a bourgeois concept”, and he knew a couple of things about the bourgeoisie, being born in industrial upper-class. There is something we need to ask ourselves about sharpness : what does it means ? What does it convey ?