A bit of a comparison between between Darktable and Capture One

So here’s a weird one: After using darktable for years, I was “forced” into using Capture One for a few months. And learned a few things. That I now want to share.

First, and skip this paragraph if you’re not interested, why? I learned photography on Linux, on darktable. I had no prior exposure to any other tool whatsoever. Also, I have a PhD in signal processing. So, a prime candidate for darktable. And I absolutely love darktable. But then two things happened: One, my second child was born, and all that precious free time that I had used editing photos evaporated. And two, I was having issues with post processing that may or may not have been related to darktable. Anyway, long story short, I gave Capture One a serious try. Not a short stint during its trial period, like last time, but a real, honest investment of money and time.

And accounts like these are exceedingly rare: Most people use Lightroom, and if they write a comparative review it is thus from the viewpoint of a Lightroom user. And that is of course ignoring the fact that learning a new raw developer represents a serious time investment and are rarely done without external pressure; which results in very few accounts that are more than skin deep. The present text comes from a few months of more-or-less exclusive use of Capture One, a few thousand edited pictures (all new, not just re-edits of old ones, and implicitly the incentive to recreate another program’s rendering). And from the viewpoint of a darktable user. Anyway, let’s get started.