Advanced image editing of saved selections as seen in PS

Hello,
I use gimp for many years, but only basic functionality. I’m a hobby photographer and edit my pictures actually exclusively with the great raw converter ‘Darktable’. But now I want to achieve something that goes beyond that.

I would like to

• save different areas of a photo as selection (channels, paths, …,)
  • reactivate and edit each of the saved selections as needed
  • adjust the brightness or apply gradients to individual selections, for example

Ultimately, I would like to achieve the same thing that is achieved in this video with PS:

Can anyone point me to a way of doing this?
Haven’t been able to get it to work despite a lot of trying.

Thanks in advance,
MichaelK

Hi @MichaelK, and welcome,

Is this something you would like to do in darktable, or in The Gimp?

Some ideas here: Gimp export layer mask as png - Graphic Design Stack Exchange and here: GIMP Layer Masks: Everything You Need to Know | Davies Media Design

Have fun!
Claes in Lund, Sweden

Hi @Claes,
thanks for your reply.

I know layers and have already used them for blending photos.

But what I want to achieve is to create arbitrarily shaped selections of a photo, to reactivate them when needed and to perform any operation only within the active selection.

The goal is to apply gradients or exposure changes only to the respective selection, as you can see in the video.

I don’t think this can be done with layers.

Have a nice Sunday
Michael

what did you find when you Googled this? i found, for example, How to Save Selections in GIMP | Davies Media Design :wink:

Hi,

found the same site and also tried to store the selections as paths or channels. This was not the problem and is only the half of the solution.

What I couldn’t manage is to reactivate one of these saved selections in such a way that I could subsequently apply, for example, exposure changes or gradients to it.