Animal-pajama party

Hi. First attempt at a Play Raw post. :bowing_woman:

This may have been, so far, my most time-consuming picture (especially if I include the preparation time), so I thought I might as well share the (arguably) funniest part, i.e., the post-processing.

G79A0640.CR3 (12.1 MB)

My RawTherapee 5.10 processing parameters follow (beware the hardcoded path to Adobe’s Canon EOS R6 Mark II Camera Neutral.dcp):
G79A0640.pp3 (33.7 KB)

• I initially thought I’d go crazy with the color vibrancy and so on, but ended up doing something fairly tame. :thinking:
  • The lighting setup is a big mess (mix of open window, halogen, LED and silver reflector :sweat_smile:), which makes it kinda hard to find a satisfying white balance. I was stuck in a room corner with a bed taking most of the space, and I’m a big newbie in such matters anyway.
  • These two (relatively cheap, which is kinda funny considering how much time I spent on this setup) figures are from different manufacturers and depict characters that are not even from the same franchise (⟨1âź©, ⟨2âź©), but they fit surprisingly well together despite the slight difference in scale. I’m not used to having two subjects to shoot, though, and it made everything significantly harder, including during post-processing.

(And kudos to the nice folks who helped me familiarize with that new camera in the couple of topics I created a little while back.)

The files in that post are licensed Creative Commons, Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike.

10 Likes

Like this :grin:
G79A0640.CR3.arp (12.2 KB)

3 Likes

I’m somewhat overloaded with this setting. So I decided to make two versions.

G79A0640.CR3.xmp (18.7 KB)
G79A0640_01.CR3.xmp (20.1 KB)

6 Likes

I love the colors! darktable 4.6.1

I deleted my first attempt and re-did it with a different color calibration. It looks better, but the CC module now says that the illuminant is invalid. Oh, well!

G79A0640.CR3.xmp (9.5 KB)

1 Like