ART and color -- Am I doing something wrong, a wrong setting or what?

Windows 11, ART 1.20.2 (AMD Zen2 optimized build from @gaaned92 if it matters)

I just noticed something that I don’t think has been happening for a while (or I’d have noticed before)…

First, to answer potential questions:

• My computer is color managed, my monitor is calibrated, ART is set up to use the system profile, etc., etc. While I’m not a color expert I understand the basics of color management, gamuts, models / spaces, etc.

• To edit in the largest color space possible, I have ART’s working space as ProPhoto and I export to either ROMM RGB (if I’m doing further edits in Affinity Photo) or SRGB for web. Rendering intent is Perceptual. I generally use AMAZE demosaicing.

• The reason I export to ROMM RGB (which is ProPhoto) is because Affinity Photo ships with ROMM RGB and there’s no way to configure ProPhoto as the default space. So, despite the fact that ProPhoto == ROMM RGB (it’s just a different name) there’s a conversion warning every time a ProPhoto image is opened. Exporting to directly to ROMM RGB avoids this.

So, what I’m seeing …

The colors in the ART image preview are more saturated than in the exported images, regardless of space. Said another way, exported images are slightly washed-out.

For example, here’s a screen capture of the ART preview:

SCN ART ROMM working

And here’s a ROMM RGB export (other color space exports show the same results) – Look at the less-orange sky:

EXP ROMM RGB

Yes, I know it’ll be displayed in SRGB in your browser, but you can save and view it with a wider-gamut program. Either way it’s noticeable.

So…

• I’m using the system (hardware) display profile in ART and elsewhere, FWIW. Which really doesn’t matter in a relative sense as everything is viewed on that same monitor, so there should be no relative difference (even if there’s an absolute inaccuracy), but whatever …