ART (brief) reference manual - Any interest?

Big Time Disclaimer ™ - I debated with myself whether or not to even post this. I’m not a developer, not a color scientist, not a mathematician and not a pro photographer. I’m so far from expert that it’s laughable to even think of myself in those terms. So if this is a recurring thing that @agriggio or others have addressed and / or refused before, or if I’ve unknowingly contravened some protocol, just tell me to shut up – No hard feelings.

OK, that said… :slight_smile:

I’ve seen questions about ART documentation and indeed, initially looked for it myself. I think from a user POV a basic high-level (user-supported?) reference of sorts could offer value.

Would there be any interest in such a document?

RawPedia is a tremendous resource and well worth reading in detail. But to have to effectively “learn” RawTherapee (i.e., read RP) in order to then learn ART is probably a little daunting to potential new ART users. I was familiar with RT before ART, so I can’t put myself fully in their shoes, but it seems likely. I realize ART wasn’t created, nor still does exist, just to build user share but it’s a great tool that I think deserves use.

What I’m thinking of would be much, much smaller than RawPedia (obviously) and would – as much as possible within reason – simply link to, or otherwise reference, relevant information in RawPedia. Sort of an “ART diff” on RP, plus a little. In other words, leverage RP as much as possible but put all the basic info together in one spot rather than send new users on a wild RawPedia chase…

ART and RawTherapee are diverging so whatever is specifically documented about ART (even if initially pulled from RP for the functional duplicates) will remain valid unless intentionally changed. Anything new would be ART-specific and in need of documenting anyway.

So…