Artifacts in the treetops

Hi, I’m just learning photo editing, so please bear with me. In the image below, I wanted the sky to be covered with heavy clouds to add drama to the image. I put on a parametric mask based on the brightness channel, lowered the exposure, and in the color balance module I also lowered the global glow and added color in the highlights. I noticed a light (white) dust jacket appearing on the tops of the trees. What am I doing wrong and what is the cause of these artifacts?

Of course, it wasn’t reality, but it’s all about having fun and learning Darktable :smile:

P1030537.RW2 (22.5 MB)

1 Like

Hi @Damian_J,

Please upload the pertinent .xmp as well.

Have fun!
Claes in Lund, Sweden

Should that be .xmp for darktable?

@damianj I’m only on my phone right now, but I think the white bits are bits of sky that were not included in the mask, so were not darkened with the rest. Perhaps the feathering slider in the mask adjustments might help?

@123sg Of course. And I thought I corrected it in time — but evidently the abstinence-because-of-503™ made me too slow…

2 Likes

No no, me too fast😆

@Damian_J
Spontaneously, before having studied your .xmp: how about trying feathering radius and his partner sliders?

1 Like

I tried to adjust the mixing of the mask, but without good results

Where can I find this file?

Try in the folder/directory in which your RAW file is.

We should be able to use your Jpg I will try … the info is saved in the meta data of it… note the pinned thread for uploading Jpg to the site… yours is quite large…

1 Like