automatic perspective correction - thank you!

Hi,

I’ve been using rawtherapee since almost 10 years now (so almost since the beginning I think… if I remember correctly the first version I used was 2.x) and I just wanted to say thanks to all developers. All tools are great. I’m specially amazed by the automatic perspective correction which I just found out (I don’t do much photography lately unfortunately… so maybe it’s been around already quite some time). You just saved me so much time of trying to correct perspective manually “pulling” a bit here and a bit there… Thanks!

2 Likes

I agree, I was so happy to see that make it’s way into RT!

Credit, where credit is due: @Lawrence37

1 Like

Well, I stole it from ART, so I have @agriggio to thank for porting it from darktable.

3 Likes

Is this in v5.8? I can only see manual perspective control, vertical and horizontal.

It’s not in 5.8. You will need a recent dev version or wait for 5.9.

Ah! That explains it! Thanks, Lawrence.

hi, this is really a nice function. But:
I just clicked this function accidentally on a pic, where no perspective correction is necessary (or possible) and RT shut down (Version: 5.8-2746-gcce2f5053).
and…this behaviour is repeatable

Does it only happen with the one photo? What are the exact steps to reproduce the crash?

@marter Please file a bugreport on our GitHub page if possible. GitHub - Beep6581/RawTherapee: A powerful cross-platform raw photo processing program

@Lawrence37 @Thanatomanic thanks for answering.
In the beginning i was curious, if, may be, my system (Windows 10, 64 bit) wasnt set up properly.
After i had checked this, i tried several raw-files and mostly the function worked fine and didnt crash.
This one file, still crashes, even if i open it without any sidecar.
Steps: open the raw file, choose perspective correction, click automatic and RT is shut down.

Wonder, if this will happen on your system too: