Basic raw-editing for art copy work

Hi!

I would need some advice for basic raw-editing for art copy work.

I’m an artist and I’m trying to create reproductions of my artwork by printing at home. I’m a total beginner with this, but I have managed to figure out the photographing and printing parts quite OK. However, between those two, I should edit my raw-images and this is what I would need some advice for.

I am trying to make as accurate reproductions of my artwork as possible. I bought X-Rite’s ColorChecker Passport for correcting white balance and the colours with a camera profile, which I know how to do in Rawtherapee. Also, I have downloaded the ProPhoto colour profile and plan to save the files as 16-bit tiff for printing. I have adjusted the horizontal level and cropped the image as well. But other than that, I’m not sure what I should do. Maybe I should add some sharpening or something else? Noise shouldn’t be a problem since I take photos with ISO 125 in good lighting conditions.

I would be very grateful for any advice for essential steps in developing a raw-photo for art copy work for printing. I want to be sure that I’m not missing anything crucial that would compromise the quality of my prints.

Hi @Marigold, and welcome!

Your nick reminds me of the first time I came into contact with Winsor & Newton’s Designers Gouache. They had a tube named Marigold Yellow. Ah well…

I’m an artist

We all are, in one way or another. Personally, I am more of a tech pixel peeper than an artist, but I do believe that I get your dilemma.

If I understand you correctly, you would like to shoot a photo of an object (having a colour of RGB x,y,z) then you would like that photo to show up on your monitor (showing a colour of RGB x,y,x), and finally printing it onto a certain substrate (normally paper), where it still would show the colour of RGB x,y,z.

In other words: an object would show exactly the same colour irrespective of the present medium, right?