Build Luminance HDR on Windows using msys2

In past, windows builds of Luminance HDR used MSVC.

I made a first step to compile and link Luminance HDR using msys2. Here are build instructions
Following this instructions it’s quite easy to compile and link Luminance HDR on Windows using msys2.

Now the part where I really need some help from more experienced people:

I’m an absolute cmake noob and don’t know how and where to modify all the CMakeLists.txt files to make a correct install for the msys2 build.

Any help is greatly appreciated.

Ping @TooWaBoo, @gaaned92, @sguyader, @Carmelo_DrRaw and others

Ingo

1 Like

I would like to help but I’m a noob too. :weary:

@heckflosse I’m a noob too. But my question is, if Rawtherapee uses InnoSetup for the windows packaging, can it be used also for making the LHDR Windows packages?

@heckflosse
Ingo, can you check whether the the cmake you have installed in MSYS2 is the 64 bits version?
Also, take a look at this: https://gitlab.kitware.com/cmake/cmake/commit/09b2f1c3f5819a5a3ec03069e7c2811172ac3591?view=parallel
If I understand, there was a change in CMake to make windows paths detected more robustly, maybe the version installed in MSYS2 is older than the date this change was committed?

@sguyader

I’m using mingw64/mingw-w64-x86_64-cmake 3.9.6-1

As a workaround we can use -DCMAKE_INSTALL_PREFIX={destination folder}.

Using InnoSetup should be possible for windows packaging.
But first we have to find out why some icons are missing in the windows build…

OK. I currently haven’t installed a Windows virtual machine, so I can’t check.
Which icons are missing?
Did you issue the gtk-update-icon-cache command after you had finished setting up the MSYS2 environment? It may have nothing to do, but as I said I can’t check right now, so I’m just throwing ideas…

Most icons are loaded at runtime from <installation_path>/icons so if you run lhdr from the build root you won’t get those icons.