Calibrating my monitor on Linux

Hi all,

I use ubuntu 22.04 and I have a Spyder 3 monitor colorimeter. I’ve tried extensively to install displaycal gui to no avail. I’ve tried the python 3 version and I’m getting all sorts of errors while installing.

Instead of taking more time to troubleshoot (already wasted way too many hours), I thought I’d just get a friend with a windows laptop, plug their machine in my monitor, run the official software, and copy the color profile to my machine. I’m fine with doing that a couple times a year, no problem, I’m just a hobbyist anyway.

My question is, is this technically a correct approach? Is the color profiling specific to the monitor only, or is it affected by the OS as well?

Thank you in advance.

Unlikely to be correct with different graphic cards and drivers.

Just use displaycal via the flatpak.

I did it without any gui using this tutorial

which do no seem to be up anymore
here is my very partial transcript if it can help :

generate calibration file for temperature 6500 at brightness 120cd/m2 (for average litten room and web/print edit) just print aim lower (100) for laptop used in bright env aim higher (130+) Gamma 2.2 (norm ?)

(argyll-)dispcal -d1 -t6500 -b120.0 -g2.2 ‘Display_Profile_Name’

##Place colorimeter on the target
##Choose to account for ambian or not (not if the light in your room is subject to change)
##Check white point for temp with menu “2” and adjust with screen OSD (move OSD where it does > not interfere)
##Continue to calibration with menu “7”
##Bengin generating by first creating the target the profile -d3 ← wideo RGB (RGB display) with the same
(argyll-)targen -v -g16 -d3 ‘Display_Profile_Name’

##Profile the display (name the target the profile name you want at the end)
(argyll-)dispread -v -H -k Display_Profile_Name.cal Display_Profile_Target

##Generate the ICC color profile file
(argyll-)colprof -v -qh -as -nc Display_Profile_Target