Can you export directly to GIMP from darktable?

I’m still a newbie when it comes to DT, is it possible to export to GIMP directly from darktable?

It’s one click-button in Rawtherapee. The file is there automatically exported as a 16bit TIF file to Gimp.

I’d love to have something similar in DT.

Thanks!

It works the other way around, you open a RAW file in GIMP and if it knows about darktable it will open the file and as soon as you close darktable the developed result is available in gimp.

One warning, the exported file is not saved and only passed to gimp, if you want to save it you have to do it within gimp.

Uh. That’s… not so useful from my perspective, if I understood it right.

If I use DT’s lightable, why would I need GIMP in the first place?

My current workflow:

• Browse and sort RAWs in Lightable
  • Develop desired files in DT
  • Export TIFFs to GIMP for final edits and rasterization tools.
  • Final save as a JPG by GIMP

@maboleth The dev version of darktable (and presumably the next common version as well) includes a lua scripts installer; one of the scripts that can be installed is Enable gimp.

That script sends an image from dt to The Gimp, and when you are through editing there, the (modified) image will be imported into dt, to be shown in lighttable, next to the original image.

Have fun!
Claes in Lund, Sweden

2 Likes

@maboleth
You don’t need to wait for the next dt version. You can get the Lus scripts here:

• The GIMP script exports the file from dt as EXR file in your temp folder.
  • Opens the file in GIMP
  • If you overwrite the EXR file and close GIMP the file is imported into dt and grouped with the original image.

EXR is a little bit better then TIFF, because it supports 32bit float and not “only” 16bit integer.

5 Likes

Among the scripts there is also ext_editors.lua, where you can configure up to 9 external programs (Gimp, Nik collection, or whatever you like) and export back and forth to them.

Thanks everyone.