Canon .CR3 files and white balance difference in CR3 vs DNG

I started learning Rawtherapee a month ago.
With great help From Andy Astburry and his Patreon channel.

I run the latest dev version on Macos.
I love working with Rt because of it´s excellent raw editing.

I own a Canon R5 and i shoot raw so my files are .CR3 files.
I can open them in Rt, but the exif data is not read (yet).
On the camera I use Auto White balance.

I noticed a big difference in the white balance setting (methods camera and automatic)
when opening a .CR3 file vs a .DNG file created from that .CR3 file.
Of course the exif data can be read from the DNG.

The DNG white balance settings are similar to those in Lightroom and look ok.
the CR3 white balance settings are way to warm.

The temperature in the CR3 is between 800 and 1200 higher than the DNG.
Also there is a difference in the tint.

I suppose this is caused by the lack of exif data in the CR3 file.

But to me it does not explain why the difference is also there when using
the automatic method instead of the camera method.

What would be the best way to use CR3 files ( which i prefer ) but still get
a correct white balance when opening it in Rt ?

You might want to check this out and see if the metadata helps…

I tried to compile and make a version for my Mac Mini M1 as follows

brew install gtk+3 gtkmm3 gtk-mac-integration adwaita-icon-theme libsigc++ little-cms2 libiptcdata fftw lensfun wget llvm cmake expat pkgconfig shared-mime-info

curl -L https://github.com/Homebrew/homebrew-core/raw/679923b4eb48a8dc7ecc1f05d06063cd79b3fc00/Formula/libomp.rb -o libomp.rb && brew install libomp.rb

mkdir -p ~/programs
git clone GitHub - KarlMagnusLarsson/RawTherapee: A powerful cross-platform raw photo processing program ~/programs/code-rawtherapee
cd ~/programs/code-rawtherapee
git checkout dev

cd ~/programs/code-rawtherapee
rm -rf build
mkdir build && cd build
cmake -DCMAKE_BUILD_TYPE=“release”
-DPROC_TARGET_NUMBER=“1”