color calibration - Brainblasting...

Happy new year,
well documentated, my IQ is not sufficient for that module. I thought, I’ am experienced user )-; Spent a lot of time with the new module - for me it is a kind of mystic.
Simple workflow needed - if that fails, then that, etc. Sometimes too magenta, to greenish, too yellow and so on. Hopefully, Glenn Butcher will present a youtube Video.
Thanks in advance, Frank

1 Like

See Aureliens video https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=U4CEN0JPcoM and the detailed documentation darktable 3.6 user manual - color calibration

1 Like

Thank you. I studied the documentation several times. Although I have an abo, I didn’t recognize Aurelians youtube representation.

One of the beautiful things about this module, is on majority of images, you don’t have to know anything to get great results. In settings, processing, make sure auto apply chromatic adaptation defaults is set to ‘modern’. Then reset white balance (it should be ‘camera reference’ giving 1 tint, 6502 temp), and CAT part of chromatic adaptation will automatically give great results. Linear bradford is suitable in majority of circumstances (daylight, tungsten), so you just move on without even thinking about it. There are a few if this, then that scenarios. Here is my list:
*If LED’s or coloured lights are in shot, use cat16. Other weird scenarios like mixed lighting may also call for this.
*If you want to temper sunsets, but retain blues, try non-linear bradford.
*If cct says invalid, use custom hue/chroma, or the colour dropper (which adjusts the hue/chroma). When using colour dropper, draw a square around an area which should be neutral.
*use gamut compression if lots of colours are OOG. Use clipping indicators to check this, with softproof profile = working profile (for master edit).