Darktable editing video tutorials on Wild Earth

Hey guys, I am a wildlife photographer and I’ve been lurking around for a while. I use darktable exclusively for Raw editing (except when I am testing other software for fun). I decided to try my hand at making a darktable tutorial. It’s a tutorial on an example of parametric mask usage:

This is my first tutorial but I was hoping to make more, all on the theme of editing wildlife and bird photographs with darktable. My future plans are to focus on the specific challenges of wildlife photography.

34 Likes

Hi @JasonTheBirder welcome! Thanks for sharing your video.

@JasonTheBirder thank you! Nice video, good idea to create some videos focusing on your field of knowledge :+1:t2:

Thanks, @paperdigits and @Roland_Rainer :smiley:

Thanks for the tutorial. I appreciate how concise it is — either you are an excellent presenter, or you must have prepared very well (or a combination of the two :wink:). Often video tutorials drag on forever, taking half an hour to transmit some small amount of information, yours is the opposite. Nice work!

3 Likes

@Tamas_Papp Thanks, Tamas. I’m very glad you liked the conciseness! To be honest I wasn’t really sure how to make it. The reason why it is like that is because I recorded the audio and video as I was editing but then edited the audio a lot to make it like it was scripted. Then I just re-recorded the video again, following my own audio instructions, because it was a nightmare to get the recorded video to follow the edited audio.

From now on I’ll just skip recording the video the first time and use the instructions following method.

2 Likes

Wow, that’s some excellent generic advice for anyone producing short screencasts! Thank you, I agree with Tamas, the conciseness is really appreciated.

1 Like