Different colors on export

Hi all,

I guess today’s bug day :-). I just noticed that some old photos look quite different in terms of color when seen within darktable and exported in jpg. Here’s an example (left side: darktable view, right side: exported jpg):

and here are the export settings:

I haven’t seen this before, and I have been using dt for a few years now. I am on an Intel MacBook Pro (Sonoma 14.3.1), using the latest stable dt binary (4.6.1). The monitor is a BenQ, not calibrated but has always given me good results and good match with the macbook screen.

many thanks for any help
giuseppe

what are your display profile settings in darktable?

Not sure… how can I find out?

I’ve had this as well, although not as pronounced.

Right click down on the softproof icon and I think you will see some of the key profile settings

So, right-clicking on the softproof icon, I get this:

In the MacBook display setting, I set the color profile for the laptop screen as “Display P3”, because that’s what Apple specifies for this laptop; I also set the color profile for the external display (a BenQ SW240), again as “Display P3” from the same MacOs settings.

On the BenQ hardware itself, however, using its own hardware keys, I set the “Color Mode” as “Adobe RGB” instead of “DCI-P3”, as this combination is the one that produces a visually identical output color-wise on the laptop screen and on the external BenQ.

Do you see anything wrong with this? I add that if I set the Color Mode of the BenQ to sRGB, using its hardware keys, I still don’t see within darktable the same colors that I see in the exported jpegs (and furthermore colors will then look different on the BenQ and on the laptop screen).

Just curious, how are you viewing the JPEGs when you’re comparing them against DT?

I would not arbitrarily set the benq monitor to dci-p3.

Just viewing the dt image along with the JPEG open with MacOs preview on the same screen.