Digitizing slides, negatives: What are your methods, equipment, philosophy?

I have thousands of Kodachromes from many years’ worth of trips to Europe, Asia, and around North America. I have been wanting to digitize them for years, and I finally got around to buying the necessary equipment and setting aside some time. I am currently using a Nikon D7200, so I bought the 40mm micro Nikkor, ES-1 Slide copying adapter, and a Kaiser slimlite Plano LED light table. I finally had time to try this out last night, and I was surprised at how easy it was. I shot a couple dozen or so and will look at them shortly in RawTherapee.

I am starting on the least important ones and working up to the more important ones, assuming that my technique/knowledge will improve with time.

I also downloaded Digicam Control for tethered shooting (not gonna pay Nikon 150$ or whatever), which I’ve never tried before. However, having live view and remote control will be very useful for this application–at very least, far more comfortable and informative than peering through the viewfinder or LCD for each shot! A live histogram should be very useful as well. However, I lack the necessary USB cable, so will have to order that (zillions of cables around here–none the correct one!)

For starters, I am trying aperture priority f/8 or f/11 and ISO 200. I guess I should go down to ISO 100 since this is all on a tripod in any case. I think I may have to try bracketing exposure on some of the more important ones, just based on what I see chimping these shots on the camera LCD.

I am curious to know:

1.) How you digitize slides/negatives, what equipment you use (Scanner, dSLR, copystand?) and how you go about it.

2.) What is your post-processing workflow, presets? I am shooting RAW of course and will be starting in RawTherapee.

3.) Have you printed any of these, and how do they compare to prints from digital cameras in your experience?