DIY copy stand for DSLR scanning

I’ve been scanning film using a DSLR for a few years, mostly using an LPL commercial copy stand. It was okay, but had some issues I wasn’t happy about. There’s no built-in way to adjust alignment, no easy way to turn it around to point the camera at the floor, and it was a bit flimsy, making it subject to vibration. I looked at converting an enlarger, but those had issues as well.

A couple weeks ago I decided to try making my own - not my first try at this - but this time it worked out really well and solved all the problems with the LPL stand. The base is a solid wood top from a small folding table I bought from a thrift store for $5. The metal pipe, floor flange and bolts cost about $20. I already had a good ball head and a Manfrotto Super Clamp (such a great tool which every photographer should have anyway!)

The design of the Super Clamp allows it to be loosened up to raise, lower, or swivel to point to the floor with no danger of the camera falling off. The ball head makes it easy to align the camera to the film, especially when using a mirror and live view. I still use live view and a 2-second timer to avoid vibrations.

15 Likes

Looks awesome! What do you use to illuminate the slides?

I use a Porta-Trace LED light box, which is about 5600K and seems to have a decent CRI. The cheaper ones from ebay are around 7-8000K and don’t render all the colours as well. I have one of these and it’s fine for sorting slides, but not for scanning.

Other notes:

Use a mirror to align the camera to the film.

Camera settings:
Base ISO (100 for mine)
Raw or raw + jpeg
Image rotation off
Live view and 2-5 second timer to avoid vibrations.
Aperture around F8-11 for best sharpness and enough depth of field to cover any film curvature.