Feathers of a Swan

Hello!

So I was taking a walk rather late and the light was getting bad. Still kinda good enough to shoot a swan though. (Photographically, that is)

This bird has very white feathers. There is some structure in them, but when I crank up the exposure only a little bit, they are so white that you can’t see anything. I find myself going for rather strong contrast enhancement to bring out some of this structure, but I wonder if that is the right path? What would you do?

This file is licensed as public domain.

My attempt:

Greetings from Austria
Mike
20230219_0021.DNG (31.9 MB)

2 Likes

20230219_0021.DNG.xmp (14.2 KB)

Grüezie, gnädige Herr Hartl!

First of all, I have to admit that I am still learning
RawTherapee. This is presently my best attempt
to tame the feathers of that swan — at least I managed
to get them a bit fluffy :slight_smile:

To get more structure, I decreased contrast.

MfG
Claes in Lund, Schweden

This is my attempt with Darktable 4.2.0. I’m not sure what I did.

20230219_0021_01.DNG.xmp (14.8 KB)

2 Likes

With RT, started with a local curve on the lightest part and went from there. A bit noisy but I don’t mind it too much personally.

20230219_0021.DNG.pp3 (21.6 KB)

1 Like

A challenge that is not without its rewards, but compromising something to get feather detail is inevitable. My quick attempt in vkdt:

I used sigmoid, with relatively high contrast and the skew slider hard over to the positive side to increase highlight contrast, then used tone eq (starting with the compress gf medium preset)to pull the (blown) highlights back in again. Quite happy with this result.
Cooler colouring which I think works well but may not be accurate.

20230219_0021.DNG.xmp (11.8 KB)

1 Like

Quite challenging!
I tried to emphasize the structures by strong abuse of haze removal and CBDL. The resulting excessive noise was gracefully reduced by downsizing the image :innocent:

20230219_0021_RT-2.jpg.out.pp3 (17.3 KB)