Filmulator Quarantine Dev Log

My day job is closed for two weeks, so I’m dedicating all of my new free time to improving Filmulator.

My goal for this period is to get Lensfun working. Figuring out the API is one matter, but the first thing I did was to open up some space in the UI for the user to select the camera and lens they’re using.

Here’s the old UI:

To open up space, I finally took the time to create some icons, and also bunched up a bit of the exposure information on the top left.

I bet that eventually, I’ll wonder how I ever got by without making icons…

7 Likes

Lensfun is a bit challenging. I finally made my implementation “full”, with a choice of interpolators. In fact, I was able to reuse the interpolators I’d already included for resizing. Studying lenstool was a big help.

Database maintenance is also “fun”, so to speak. I ended up writing my own update library using libcurl and libarchive, so I could point it all at the directory of my choosing, and include the interface in the rawproc menus. I respected the version_x convention the library maintainers established, as the ABI difference between 0.3.2 and nascent 4.0.0 crosses version_1 and version_2, and there are distro packages out there at both versions.

Finally, lens nomenclature is a real pain. I think a lot of the misses folk bring to the forum have to do with aperture, where f/4.3 and F4.3 are different enough to bollox the match, and there are lensid files out there that use both in the same file version. I’m probably going to incorporate exiv2 just to anchor that somewhere that the lensfun database can also respect…

FWIW you can always inspect my code for one person’s implementation;

and surrounding code…

1 Like

That makes me think it would be easier to sanitize the database to use one convention somehow…

https://exiftool.org/TagNames/Nikon.html

Why oh why does Nikon have such an awful way of encoding what lens it used?

Do I have to keep checking back to update this list?