GIMP 2.10.6 out-of-range RGB values from .CR2 file

Hello everyone,

I’m an astronomy weenie, using GIMP to peer into my astrophotos. I’m not very experienced at either, I might add! I use a Canon 100D DSLR and .CR2 raw image files.

When I import a .CR2 file into GIMP, using the darktable plugin, I see my image just fine. But when I zoom way in and use Color Picker to examine individual pixels I see some instances of over 100% R, G, or B values in the core of bright stars, and some instances of negative percentage R, G, or B values in the dark background.

How can this be? .CR2 is just a 16-bit integer format for each of R, G, and B, so how can there be >100% or <0% R/G/B values?

Thanks for any help,
Gerrit

1 Like

Two reasons:

• A colour transform via matrix to a smaller gamut will change the light ratios in the file.
  • Sampling. Resampling can cause overshoot and undershoot.

It’s likely mostly the first point.

Thanks, Troy. Why would darktable or GIMP transform the nice simple .CR2 file data? I see overranges up to 108% or so, and underranges down to a bit less than -1%. This seems like a pretty sloppy transform, too (not knowing anything about it).

This leads down the dark path known as pixel management.

The values in your camera data parcel are essentially light ratios. That is, they are linear values that have been harvested off of the sensor after serious massaging of software and hardware engineering. But sensors are monochromatic, and to record colour, they put little plastic / glass coloured filters on top of the microlenses.

Those filters gather up spectral components and bake them down into a three light array. If we wanted to replicate what they captured, we’d need a projector / emitting device with precisely the same coloured plastic / glass caps. That is, we’d need identical coloured filters to properly re-project the light ratios.