How are different versions of images to be saved for future processing?

Let me start by pointing out that I’m a newbie with respect to both RT & raw images. I’ve read the RawPedia section titled “Processing Profiles” but still a bit confused about how RT intends to operate. On most computer software used for editing just about anything there is a concept of saving your work, at certain points during the work-flow, with the idea that you can subsequently experiment without risk of losing what’s been saved. In that, you can easily return to the point you were when the work was saved.

As I understand it, which is certainly not authoritative, the work that is done editing images is recorded in automatically generated profiles (AGP) which are also called sidecar files and that nothing is ever written to the input file selected for editing (e.g., file containing raw image produced by the camera). While this is good from the point of view of preserving the raw images there is a need to save an updated image someplace/somehow. From experimentation it appears whenever I choose to edit an input file one of these AGP files gets created. This happens even before I do anything which could be called editing although I have come to realize that some edits are invariably done even before I start to make any decisions about what changes I’d like to make. Finally, it appears as though updates to this file are the main result of the work done during the editing session. However, I haven’t figured out how to control either what is written or when it is written.

If RT fails/crashes what should I expect this file to contain?

When you achieve some result that you’d like to retain, even if you are still experimenting with other ideas, how do you save something that you might like to think of as a version of the image?