How can I add more warmth into my pictures

Hi,

Complete newbie here. I have ten or so pictures, in different settings with one or multiple characters in each, with which I am trying to tell a story. I have done the color correcting so far. While doing some research, a more yellow and orange tint can introduce warmth into the pictures. I have also heard about teal and orange. I would like to experiment with these but couldn’t figure out how to implement it. Best I could come up with is to increase warmth of the whites. But it doesn’t really do the teal and orange thing. I want my characters to stand out slightly from their background with warmth.

My questions:

1. How can I experiment with such a look
  2. Is the any other setting you would recommend
  3. Does it make sense to hit all of the pictures with the same degree of orange and teal look to have some consistency or is it better to vary it picture to picture.

Hi @Baran, and welcome!
Please use the search utility in this forum. Among other
things, this will pop up:

Have fun!
Claes in Lund, Sweden

Hi Claes,

Thanks for the reply. I was perhaps a bit more direct when I was phrasing the question. I am not solely looking for an orange and teal implementation but also for suggestions and feedback in my line of thinking.

It is also not clear to me how to (or whether to) implement the same amount of filter across multiple images.

Hi Baran, welcome to Pixls!

I’ll start with this one first:

Short answer: No, it does not.

The way effects, in general but in this case colour grading specifically, manifests itself depends on the initial image. So, strictly speaking each image is unique and needs to be treated as such. If, for example there are almost no (darker) shadows in an image an effect that makes the dark shadows colder wont have any/that much of an effect so you might need to adjust the tool(s) used to make the shadows that are present colder. However…