How to build sigmoid and dt

Summary -

• if like me you’ve previously thought building software was too tricky, well it’s not, have a go!
  • devs can help by posting up the details to build their changes. Then more people can test them!
  • below shows how to build sigmoid in particular, and dt “master” generally, under Ubuntu 20.04. I expect this will work under a number of linux flavours.

I am no expert in this so bear that in mind.

There are various ways to build, some slicker than what I will describe. Also a wiki is available here - Building darktable · darktable-org/darktable Wiki · GitHub

Please note, this process is a “one shot” process where you start with a clean slate each time. It’s not efficient if you want to build daily, because you’d be downloading nearly 2Gb unnecessarily. Generally I only build every month or so.

1. Building darktable Master

Master is the current dt, dt under development, and includes all the work in progress which has passed certain checks. It seems logical to cover Master first.

1.1 In your existing dt, export any Styles you wish to continue using (see the manual).

1.2 Install any pending system updates (seems a wise move)

1.3 Install dependencies
dt relies on lots of software produced by others. This must be formally installed. Therefore -
Open up a Terminal window.
Terminal allows “commands” to be executed. We will type in or paste commands one by one. You can automate the build commands in future.
If Terminal is new to you, find out how to paste commands into it, and how to copy sections of the window.

Paste the following into Terminal
N.B. This step only needs doing the first time you build. Here I’m quoting the wiki.
sudo apt-get install gcc g++ cmake intltool xsltproc libgtk-3-dev libxml2-utils libxml2-dev liblensfun-dev librsvg2-dev libsqlite3-dev libcurl4-gnutls-dev libjpeg-dev libtiff5-dev liblcms2-dev libjson-glib-dev libexiv2-dev libpugixml-dev
The above is all one command. Then do