how to darken blue sky

Hi,

I am new to rawtherapee and i would like to know how i can darken blue skies. Also, there appears to be a way to apply mask to a section of the image as evident from color tonig section of rawpedia but it does not say how to apply the mask. Can anyone shed some light on these two topics. Thanks.

To darken a blue sky you can use the LH curve in L*a*b Adjustments

5 Likes

there is also a graduated ND filter

1 Like

Thanks for the reply. It worked. I tried similar method to darken sky in black and white mode also using luminance equalizer method.

1 Like

graduated filter, not rawtherapee though

I too have been trying to darken a bright sky and enhance low contrast clouds in a raw image from a Sony a6000. The desired end result is a black and white image. I adjust the exposure and white / black points, enable black and white, then use the equalizer to selectively darken the light blue sky as shown above. Using Capture One Sony, this is fairly easy, with excellent (striking, actually) results. But in RawTherapee, while the sky does darken and the contrast between the sky and clouds increases, the resulting image is very grainy in low contrast areas of the sky. It looks like maybe the internal bit depth is insufficient? I have tried absolutely every setting and configuration and the grainy appearance remains. The same image and roughly the same approach yields a smooth image in Capture One Sony.

Note that I am enhancing very low contrast areas in the sky. But again, Capture One produces smooth results and Raw Therapee does not.

Paul

@pgoelz Although I haven’t used it, RT has an experimental version called Local Lab build - #638 by dngimage, which allows you to select and modify local regions. It gets updated every so often.

@pgoelz
You provide some textual comparison between CO and RT.
If you want either some help to use RT or help dev to improve RT it is not sufficient.