How to get OOC look / correct colors in Darktable

I am new to shooting in raw. I have tried Darktable and RawTherapee and a like Darktable more. However, I am puzzled by one thing, how to get the images to look similar to the .jpg preview and, hence, look lifelike.

I understand that the purpose of processing a raw image is not to reproduce the jpg preview, but it seems to me that it is at least a similar representation of the image is a good starting point. In RawTherapee, the Auto-Matched Tone Curve make the image look this way. In Darktable, I am not able to achieve similar image.

Let me show an example, take the image from raw.pixls.us database,
which is take by the same type of camera as I have. If I open it in Darktable, it looks like this

while the jpg preview looks like this

The Darktable image is dull, but more importantly is not a good representation of reality, this can be easily seen from the fact that white looks gray. I had same results with my own photos.

I would like to be able to turn on some “color correction” to remedy this in a similar manner as one can turn on e.g. lens correction. Is there anything like this in Darktable?

As a starting point try enabling the “add basic colorfulness” preset in the color balance rgb module and increasing the exposure a bit.

1 Like

It’s a choice. Most software do choices for you to start processing, so you have a similar jpg rendering. darktable do not do choices for you but let you choose yours. If you want to start near jpg rendering, maybe darktable is not for you. But if you want to choose entirely the results and understand that this choice could let you more possibilities by giving you more choices to process your images and not doing them at your place, so welcome to darktable.