How To Install Nightly Builds

Hello everyone,

I am new to this community and using Raw Therapee. I’ve been delving into everything on the site and its a lot of helpful information. I haven’t been able to find any information about how to install the nightly builds for MAC however. Again, I am new to all of this, especially coding, so maybe having a thread for this would be helpful for others that come to this question.

I currently run v 5.8 and from reading some other threads regarding issues with CR2 files being dark (green tint and etc), I need to install build RawTherapee_dev_5.8-447-g1fe03b298_20200601.exe. I am no expert in code or anything, so a detailed explanation would be very appreciated, and I’m sure other newbies like myself would be glad to have this too.

Cheers

This is the image for reference
IMG_0251.CR2 (17.0 MB)

Just download the installer from here:

I see the download links. But as I mentioned, I am a complete newbie when it comes to source code. I’d like some guidance as to how to work with these .tar.xz tarball, etc codes. I have no idea what to do with them

You wrote, you need the .exe. Just download RawTherapee_dev_5.8-447-g1fe03b298_20200601.exe and execute it.

Oh, now I saw you need a Mac executable. I was confused by you mentioning .exe

Yes, I would need a file for a mac. Is the exe not for mac? Which would would be and what would be the proper way of installing it?

.exe is for Windows

For Mac @HIRAM

so actually none of these are for mac to fix the issue I mentioned - Release Automated Builds · Beep6581/RawTherapee · GitHub

You could try RawTherapee_OSX_10.9_64_5.8-397-g276ae214f.zip from here
https://keybase.pub/kd6kxr/

Should work

Awesome thank you. Which zip file though, there seems to be a number of different ones

The one I mentioned above :wink:

apologies about that; really do appreciate your help. Will try it out :slight_smile:

It crashes upon open, but there is this in the folder notes: