How to process night sky shot with Nikon NEF?

Hi folks,

I just started learning to use RT. I have this night starry sky picture taken with Nikon D810, with Landscape profile selected and WB set to about 2700K. I shot it with both RAW (NEF) and JPG. I like the JPG look, want to get a little more details from the dark area from the RAW file, and darken a little the mountain peaks area. How do I go about it? There are so many controls and adjustments in RT, I’m not sure where to start…

thanks,

Jason

The RAW file is here:
DSC_2391.NEF (31.6 MB)

3 Likes

Hi @seafan

There are several ways to go about this:

• Exposure > Tone curve
  • Exposure > Highlights and Shadows
  • Exposure > Exposure > Black/Shadow Compression/Contrast
  • Exposure > Lab* Adjustments (Set Curves L to Custom and adjust the curve

I’d recommend that you spend some time playing with the noise reduction as well. Perhaps @Morgan_Hardwood can suggest some good noise reduction settings for this image.

Looking at your exposure settings, there are a few things that you could’ve done while capturing to make life easier. Get a cable/remote release, set your camera to Bulb, and then use an exposure time longer than 30 seconds. This will allow you to use a lower ISO, which will help eliminate the noise present in the shadows.

You could also shoot multiple exposures, one for the sky and one for the shadows, then blend them in an image editor like GIMP.

First of all, wow that’s a stellar (pun intended) image you’ve got there! :smiley:

If you haven’t had a chance yet, give this section of rawpedia a read:

http://rawpedia.rawtherapee.com/The_Image_Editor_Tab#Eek.21_My_Raw_Photo_Looks_Different_than_the_Camera_JPEG

There may be a DCP for your camera already (not sure, but maybe!). Otherwise, what @paperdigits already said. Perhaps a touch of tonemapping or even simply raising shadows and increasing their tonal width a bit will help with details there.